SPECIAL SESSIONS

.

Here the list of the Special Sessions (SS) preliminary approved by the organizing committee. The authors that would like to propose their papers for a SS, have to choose the same SS as “Primary Subject Area” in the submission procedure.

For any information on a SS, please contact the SS chair:
Fabio Bisegna fabio.bisegna@uniroma1.it and Gaetano Zizzo gaetano.zizzo@unipa.it

.

SS TITLE
SS01
ELECTRICAL AND NON-ELECTRICAL

INTERVENTIONS FOR LESS ENERGY
CONSUMPTIONS IN BUILDINGS


Name & Surname
Prof. Gianluca Scaccianoce
Dr. Giorgia Peri
Affiliation
DEIM – Department of Energy, Information Engineering and Mathematical Models – University of Palermo
Country
Italy
E-mail
gianluca.scaccianoce@unipa.it
giorgia.peri@unipa.it


SS TITLE
SS02
SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES
FOR EFFICIENT LIGHTING
IN BUILDINGS AND CITIES


Name & Surname
Prof. Marco Beccali
Dr. Marina Bonomolo
Affiliation
Department of Energy, Information Engineering and Mathematical Models – University of Palermo
Country
Italy
E-mail
marco.beccali@dream.unipa.it
marina.bonomolo@deim.unipa.it


SS TITLE
SS03
STABILITY ANALYSIS
OF COMPLEX
POWER SYSTEMS


Name & Surname
Dr. Rossano Musca
Dr. Gaetano Zizzo
Affiliation
DEIM Department of Energy, Information Engineering and Mathematical Models – University of Palermo
Country
Italy
E-mail
rossanomusca@gmail.com
gaetano.zizzo@ieee.org


SS TITLE
SS04
LIGHT, ENERGY,

SSL SYSTEMS AND APPLICATIONS
(LED AND OLED)


Name & Surname
Dr. Laurent Canale
Affiliation
CNRS Research Engineer, LAPLACE Lab., Toulouse
Country
France
E-mail
canale@laplace.univ-tlse.fr


SS TITLE
SS05
REGIONAL INTEGRATION:

HOW TO GET IT RIGHT?


Name & Surname
Dr. Enrico Maria Carlini
Affiliation
Terna SpA
Country
Italy
E-mail
enricomaria.carlini@terna.it


SS TITLE
SS06
MACHINE LEARNING
IN SMART GRIDS


Name & Surname
Prof. Ramazan Bayindir
Dr. Eklas Hossain
Affiliation
Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Gazi University
Department of Renewable Energy Engineering – Oregon University
Country
Turkey, USA
E-mail
bayindir@gazi.edu.tr
eklas.hossain@oit.edu


SS TITLE
SS07
ENERGY PROSUMERS FLEXIBILITY

FOR FUTURE SMART GRIDS


Name & Surname
Dr. Diego Arnone
Affiliation
Engineering Ingegneria Informatica S.p.A.
Country
Italy
E-mail
arnone@eng.it


SS TITLE
SS08
ENERGY FROM SEA,
PERSPECTIVES AND FUTURE SCENARIOS


Name & Surname
Dr. Vincenzo Franzitta
Dr. Alessia Viola

Affiliation
Department of Energy, Information Engineering and Mathematical Models – University of Palermo
Country
Italy
E-mail
vincenzo.franzitta@unipa.it
alessia.viola@deim.unipa.it


SS TITLE
SS09
TRANSPORT SYSTEMS

AND SUSTAINABLE MOBILITY


Name & Surname
Prof. Mariano Gallo
Affiliation
DING Department of Engineering – University of Sannio
Country
Italy
E-mail
gallo@unisannio.it


SS TITLE
SS10
INTERNET OF THINGS
SOLUTIONS FOR SMART CITIES


Name & Surname
Lect. Vladimir Tanasiev
Assoc. Prof. Radu Porumb
Affiliation
Faculty of Power Engineering – University POLITEHNICA of Bucharest
Country
Romania
E-mail
vtanasiev@gmail.com
radu.porumb@upb.ro


SS TITLE
SS11
ENERGY STORAGE
FOR SMART GRIDS


Name & Surname
Prof. Davide Poli
Affiliation
DESTEC
University of Pisa
Country
Italy
E-mail
davide.poli@unipi.it


SS TITLE
SS12
ITALY-VIETNAM:

BILATERAL RESEARCH EXPERIENCE
ON ENERGY, ENVIRONMENT AND ICT


Name & Surname
Dr. Mariano Anderle 
Affiliation
Scientific Attaché
Embassy of Italy in Hanoi
Country
Vietnam
E-mail
hanoi.scienza@esteri.it


SS TITLE
SS13
SMART ENERGY MANAGEMENT

IN THE TRANSPORTATION SECTOR


Name & Surname
Prof. Alberto Reatti
Dr. Luca Pugi
Affiliation
Dipartimento di Ingegneria Industriale – University of Florence
Country
Italy
E-mail
alberto.reatti@unifi.it
luca.pugi@unifi.it


SS TITLE
SS14
THE POTENTIAL OF DC DISTRIBUTION GRIDS
TO UNLOCK TECHNICAL AND ECONOMIC BARRIERS FOR EMPOWERMENT OF THE ELECTRICITY USER


Name & Surname
Prof. Mihaela Albu
Dr. Irina Ciornei
Prof. Mihai Sanduleac

Affiliation
Departments of Electrical Engineering and Power Systems – “Politehnica” University of Bucharest
Country
Romania
E-mail
albu@ieee.org
irina.ciornei@upb.ro
mihai.sanduleac@upb.ro


SS TITLE
SS15
MONITORING, DIAGNOSIS AND RELIABILITY OF RENEWABLE ENERGY SOURCES


Name & Surname
Dr. Silvano Vergura
Affiliation
Politecnico di Bari
Country
Italy
E-mail
silvano.vergura@poliba.it


SS TITLE
SS16
ADVANCED CONTROL
FOR POWER SYSTEMS


Name & Surname
Prof. Renato Procopio
Affiliation
Department of Naval, Electrical, and ICT Engineering – University of Genoa
Country
Italy
E-mail
renato.procopio@unige.it


SS TITLE
SS17
MODELS AND METHODS FOR EFFICIENT ENERGY MANAGEMENT OF DISTRIBUTED ENERGY RESOURCES UNDER THE CONCEPT OF LOCAL ENERGY SYSTEMS


Name & Surname
Dr. Giorgio Graditi
Dr. Marialaura  Di  Somma

Affiliation
ENEA  Italian  National  Agency  for  New  Technologies,  Energy  and  Sustainable  Economic Development
Country
Italy
E-mail
giorgio.graditi@enea.it
marialaura.disomma@enea.it


SS TITLE
SS18
E-MOBILITY:
PRIVATE AND PUBLIC TRANSPORT


Name & Surname
Dr. Michela Longo
Dr. Claudio Carlini

Affiliation
Dipartimento di Energia – Sezione Elettrica, Politecnico di Milano
RSE, Energy Systems Development Department
Country
Italy
E-mail
michela.longo@polimi.it


SS TITLE
SS19
ENGINEERING SOLUTIONS FOR THE ASSESSMENT OF PHOTOBIOLOGICAL RISK FROM UV RADIATION


Name & Surname
Dr. Massimo Borra
Prof. Fabio Bisegna

Affiliation
Department of Occupational and Environmental Medicine, Italian Workers’ Compensation Authority (INAIL)
Sapienza University of Rome
Country
Italy
E-mail
m.borra@inail.it
fabio.bisenga@uniroma1.it


SS TITLE
SS20
SYSTEM MODELING AND OPTIMIZATION


Name & Surname
Prof. Jose Luiz Barbosa
Dr. Wesley Pacheco Calixto

Affiliation
Electrotechnical Department – IV, Federal Institute of Goias
Country
Brazil
E-mail
jose.luiz@ifg.edu.br
wpcalixto@pq.cnpq.br


SS TITLE
SS21
SEAP (SUSTAINABLE ENERGY ACTION PLANS) AND NZEB (NEARLY ZERO ENERGY BUILDINGS) APPROACHES ARE EFFECTIVE TOOLS FOR PROMOTING ENERGY EFFICIENCY IN TOWNS? PRIN EXPERIENCES IN ITALY


Name & Surname
Prof. Gianfranco Rizzo
Prof. Livio De Santoli

Affiliation
DEIM – Department of Energy, Information Engineering and Mathematical Models – University of Palermo
University of Rome “Sapienza”
Country
Italy
E-mail
gianfranco.rizzo@unipa.it
livio.desantoli@uniroma1.it


SS TITLE
SS22
NEW EMC CHALLENGES IN THE SMART GRID


Name & Surname
Prof. Leonardo Sandrolini
Prof. Giordano Spadacini

Affiliation
Department of Electrical, Electronic, and Information Engineering “Guglielmo Marconi” – Alma Mater Studiorum – University of Bologna
Dept. of Electronics, Information and Bioengineering (DEIB),  Politecnico di Milano
Country
Italy
E-mail
leonardo.sandrolini@unibo.it
giordano.spadacini@polimi.it


SS TITLE
SS23
ADVANCED INTEGRATION OF MICRO-GRID TECHNOLOGIES AND MARKET MODELS IN THE DISTRIBUTION NETWORK


Name & Surname
Prof. Quoc Tuan TRAN
Affiliation
Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission – CEA, National Institute for Solar Energy – INES
Country
France
E-mail
quoctuan.tran@cea.fr


SS TITLE
SS24
POWER PROPERTIES, QUALITY, AND COMPENSATION OF ULTRA-HIGH POWER AC ARC FURNACES


Name & Surname
Prof. Leszek S. Czarnecki
Affiliation
Louisiana State University, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Country
US
E-mail
lczarn1@lsu.edu


SS TITLE
SS25
O&M AND LONG-TERM PERFORMANCE CONTROL OF PV SYSTEMS


Name & Surname
Prof. S. Leva
Prof. F. Grimaccia

Affiliation
Dipartimento di Energia – Poltecnico di Milano
Country
Italy
E-mail
sonia.leva@polimi.it
francesco.grimaccia@polimi.it


SS TITLE
SS26
PORT ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS: ANALYSIS, OPERATION AND PLANNING


Name & Surname
Giorgio Sulligoi
Affiliation
University of Trieste
Country
Italy
E-mail
gsulligoi@units.it


SS TITLE
SS27
RESILIENCE OF ELECTRICAL POWER AND ENERGY NETWORKS


Name & Surname
Prof. Payman Dehghanian
Dr. Luigi Calcara
Affiliation
Electrical and Computer Engineering Dept., School of Engineering and Applied Sciences – George Washington University
Astronautical, Electrical and Energy Engineering Dept. – University of Roma “La Sapienza”
Country
USA, Italy
E-mail
payman@gwu.edu
luigi.calcara@uniroma1.it